Attix5 Pro FAQ
Search:     Advanced search

Altering MirrorServer retention settings

Article ID: 193
Last updated: 25 Aug, 2015

Backup Account deletion

By default, if a Backup Account that is being mirrored is deleted, it will be removed from the StorageServer and MirrorServer immediately. To increase or decrease the amount of time before the Backup Account is deleted from the MirrorServer, follow these steps:

  1. On your MirrorServer, navigate to the SS_Service folder (the default location is C:\ProgramData\Attix5 Pro\SS_Service) and open Settings.xml.
  2. Find the following parameter and change the 0 inside the parameter to however many hours you'd like to keep the Backup Account before deleting it from the MirrorServer, eg 12 hours:

    <Hourstokeepdeletedaccounts default="0">12</Hourstokeepdeletedaccounts>

Backup Account no longer mirrored due to MirrorServer being removed

When you remove a MirrorServer from a Storage Platform, you are asked if you want to remove all mirrored Backup Accounts. If you choose to remove the mirrored Backup Accounts, they are retained for 24 hours before being deleted. To increase or decrease this time, follow these steps:

  1. On your MirrorServer, navigate to the SS_Service folder (the default location is C:\ProgramData\Attix5 Pro\SS_Service) and open Settings.xml.
  2. Find the following parameter and change the 24 inside the parameter to however many hours you'd like to keep the Backup Account before deleting it from the MirrorServer, eg 36 hours:

    <Hourstokeepoldmirroraccounts default="24">36</Hourstokeepoldmirroraccounts>

Notes:

  • This setting does not apply when mirroring is disabled on a Backup Group.
  • In V7.0.0 and earlier, this setting has a bug that means the Backup Accounts are only removed at midnight after the hours you have specified have elapsed. 
    E.g. You specify that the Backup Accounts should be kept for one hour before being deleted. You then remove the MirrorServer at 14:00. The bug results in the Backup Accounts only being removed at midnight.
    This bug is resolved in V7.0.1.

The service checks once every minute whether the Settings.xml file has changed, and will log "Settings file reloaded" once it has picked up the updated file. Once this occurs, the new settings will be active.

Article ID: 193
Last updated: 25 Aug, 2015
Revision: 13
Views: 2871
Comments: 0
Posted: 08 Oct, 2012 by -- .
Updated: 25 Aug, 2015 by Du Plessis S.
This article was:  
Prev   Next
Article 195 - OS X Mountain Lion can't open the Backup Client package for...     Article 199 - Migrating a Storage Platform to new IP addresses or DNS names